Skip to content

Students speak out against standardization

November 10, 2010
by

I can’t express in words how much I admire these high school students from Albuquerque, New Mexico. This video is a must-watch, must-share.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristina permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:23 am

    These kids are awesome!!!

    • November 10, 2010 9:32 am

      Aren’t they??? I can’t wait until more students rise up like this…I feel it’s comingšŸ˜‰

  2. Demian permalink
    November 10, 2010 9:52 am

    Wow! Do you know what event this was at?

  3. Acacia permalink
    November 10, 2010 11:10 am

    WOW. that was amazing.

  4. November 10, 2010 1:19 pm

    Brilliant stuff. Articulate, on-point, powerful. And who amongst the powerful, moneyed, self-interested deformers and their puppets will listen or heed this message? None.

  5. Frederika permalink
    November 10, 2010 7:41 pm

    All in all, it’s just another chink in the wall. Reformers–leave those kids alone.

    Sabrina is right–this is bound to spread. Teachers know that what’s happening is not right. Kids are not far behind.

  6. November 10, 2010 9:13 pm

    Wow! It brought tears to my eyes. And the revolution will be televised!

  7. November 11, 2010 9:28 pm

    I just watched this inspiring video. I think that sensation I’m feeling might be one of hope!

  8. Susana Gallardo permalink
    November 16, 2010 1:44 pm

    Fabulous video! Thanks for posting! It is unfortunate, though, that you chose to characterize it by a single line with a slur on the developmentally disabled.

    • November 16, 2010 1:53 pm

      Thanks for your comment, and I sincerely apologize. I took their use of it to mean that they resist a one-size-fits-all approach to schooling that slows (retards) true progress in education in its short-sightedness and disrespect, but now I can easily see how it could be construed as a slur against those individuals. I’ll change the title when I return to my computer.

  9. November 20, 2010 9:55 am

    YES!!! I am in tears.. so fantastic. Thank You! I am posting this to the Education Now! Facebook Page and my own Wall. Again, thanks you so very much..

  10. May 9, 2011 8:27 pm

    If anyone knows how to contact these students, let me know via my blog http://3rseduc.blogspot.com I am in complete awe and wish to share it with the students. I cannot even express how glad I am that they “get it” and are not afraid to speak up!

Trackbacks

  1. Students speak out against ā€œstandardized retardationā€ Ā« Failing Schools « Parents 4 democratic Schools
  2. Tweets that mention Students speak out against ā€œstandardized retardationā€ Ā« Failing Schools -- Topsy.com
  3. Damn Good Education Daily « Parents 4 democratic Schools
  4. A birthday circle for NCLB? :: Sabrina Stevens Shupe

Leave a Reply

